is required to obtain your Florida Real Estate License?
To become a Real
Estate Associate you must:
1. Successfully complete a FREC-approved pre-licensing course for
sales associates consisting of 63 classroom-hours and covering the
topics required by the FREC. The course is valid for licensure purposes
for 2 years after the course completion date. Licensees with a permanent
physical disability, as defined by FREC Rule 61J2-3.013(2), may
qualify for a correspondence pre-licensing course if unable, due
to a permanent physical disability, to attend the site where the
course is conducted.
2. Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and
An applicant for a Florida Real Estate License
- Be at least 18 years old
- Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Have a Social Security Number
- **Broker License applicants must have held an active real estate
license in any state for at least 2 out of the previous 5 years.**
3. Pass the Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Examination (external
link) with a grade of at least 75 or pass the Florida Real Estate
Law Exam with a grade of at least 30.
4. Activate the license, otherwise the license is issued in an inactive
status. This can be done using the DBPR RE 11-Become Active - Sales
Associate or Broker Sales Associate form. Alternatively, once the
new license number is issued, the broker can activate the sales
associate using the broker's online account.
5. Whether holding an active or inactive license, successfully complete
a FREC-approved post-licensing course for sales associate consisting
of at least 45 classroom-hours, prior to the expiration of the initial
sales associate license.